Select Page

The Exception MD Clinic

Exception MD offers specialized medical and surgical care in a private setting. It is recognized as a beacon a model of excellence in Canada in the diagnosis and treatment of issues involving the hand, wrist, elbow, shoulder, knee and foot.

Our doctors use the most innovative and minimally invasive techniques. Our team advocates an approach based on patient satisfaction and well-being by prioritizing the fastest and most effective pain-relief and treatment methods.

Exception MD is a team of renowned physicians who are world leaders in their areas of expertise. Exception MD offers a warm personal, complete and rapid service in an ultra-modern, safe clinical environment.

Dr. Marc Beauchamp, MD, FRC SC

I am an orthopedic surgeon who specializes in the treatment of the shoulder and elbow, mainly by arthroscopic methods, as well as knee arthroscopy.

When I meet patients for the first time, I often tell them, « I’m in this to win! » That could sound ambitious or pretentious, as though I’m playing God. What I mean is that my commitment to each individual who puts his or her trust in me is absolute. After more than 25 years of orthopedic practice, and some 6,000 surgical procedures (including more than 4,000 shoulder arthroscopies), I still do everything in my power to make the next procedure the best, and the next patient the most satisfied.

I also trained in ultrasonography which, in consultations, helps complete the physical exam and allows me to do injections with ultrasound guidance. This is usually a more precise process than conventional injection methods. The daily use of ultrasonography has revolutionized my clinical practice over the years, especially in providing me the possibility to monitor the progression of the healing after surgery or after injections.

For me, nothing is routine, and every person I meet is a fresh opportunity to excel. I am passionate about my profession. It is not only my work, but also a privilege that fills me with gratitude for having the use of both hands (my left hand having been restored by a surgeon when I was 14 years old) and being able to help others in return. And perhaps some among my patients will eventually go out and pay it forward, thank or help someone else with two healthy arms as it happened to me. Each operation I perform is fuelled by that wish and in this I find my greatest satisfaction.

Dr. Jean-Paul Brutus

Dr. Brutus is a plastic and reconstructive surgeon specializing in treatment of the hand and wrist. He is a proponent of less invasive treatment techniques and considered a leader in endoscopic hand and wrist surgery in Quebec and Canada. He is one of the few surgeons in Canada to perform endoscopic decompression in his treatments of trigger finger and carpal tunnel syndrome. He is the co-founder of Exception MD, the first private medical clinic in Canada dedicated to treatment of the upper and lower limbs.

OUR AREAS OF EXPERTISE

Exception MD offers expertise and quality care that are recognized in the treatment of pathologies and accidental injuries of the hand, wrist, elbow, shoulder, knee and foot. Our team of specialists favours the most advanced, sophisticated techniques to ensure a minimum of discomfort and the rapid restoration of mobility. From diagnosis to procedure through to healing and rehabilitation, we provide the most attentive and personalized care.

The shoulder

Imagine not being able to use one of your arms. Unable to readily raise your hand, you would find yourself oddly limited in your movements. A healthy, pain-free, mobile and strong shoulder is by no means a luxury. One could even say it is a condition of being independent, because we do virtually everything with our upper limbs; even moving around with crutches, a wheelchair or a walker requires the use of both arms.

The shoulder is the human body’s most mobile and complex joint. Along with the elbow, it moves the hand through space to specific places with strength and precision. In fact, the shoulder is made up of four joints, not just one. The largest of these is the glenohumeral, the others being the sternoclavicular, acromioclavicular and scapulothoracic joints, all connected by groups of muscles, tendons and ligaments. In fact, a shoulder surgeon deals more with soft tissues than he does with bones. Fortunately, the shoulder generally heals very well, albeit more slowly than other joints. Post-operative follow-up is therefore crucial, and patience is as much a part of healing as is physical therapy.

The elbow

The elbow is made up of three joints: the first, the humeroulnar, or trochlea, works a bit like a hinge to allow bending and straightening (flexion and extension) of the forearm; the second is the humeroradial, which allows the forearm to rotate the wrist (supination and pronation) and stabilizes the elbow. The third is the proximal radioulnar, which is the rolling of the radius on a tiny lateral facet of the ulna (necessary for supination and pronation)

Elbow osteoarthritis is fairly rare, but issues with tendons (of the biceps and epicondyles) are frequent. If we exclude injuries, the most frequent problems are bursitis (the bursa on the olecranon often being the site of inflammation) and tendon tears (particularly the distal biceps).

Hand and wrist

Whether you suffer from osteoarthritis of the fingers, a condition affecting the hand, or a hand or wrist injury, regardless of the nature and complexity of your problem, our team of specialized surgeons can help you regain optimal physical function so that you can go back to your regular activities as quickly as possible.

The knee

The knee is a fairly simple joint. As long as we don’t ask it for more than basic flexion/extension (as we do, for example, when riding a bike), all is well. However, twisting motions can cause tears in the ligaments (crossed in the centre and collateral internal and external) and the meniscus, the small cartilage pads shaped like half-moons.

Contrary to the shoulder and elbow, the knee is a load-bearing joint that supports our body weight as we walk. To remain mobile, the knee must be free of pain and the joint be fluid and stable. We are currently seeing a real epidemic of knee problems in the general population, due to the trend of people living longer and being much more active than before. Keeping people mobile and pain free as long as possible is the big challenge of modern-day orthopedics.

Foot

Foot pathologies are common and varied. Feet, which are mechanically complex, bear a significant amount of weight and are often mistreated, both by poorly fitting footwear and various activities. This makes them vulnerable to a variety of problems and injuries. Foot disorders – whether hereditary or acquired, affecting the bones, joints or nerves, appearing suddenly or gradually – can today be treated quickly and effectively.

TESTIMONIALS FROM OUR PATIENTS

Thanks to Dr. Beauchamp, my retirement is everything I dreamed it would be. I play golf and enjoy many other activities, all pain-free. Life is good. I cannot thank you enough!

I’ll always be grateful to you for restoring my quality of life. This is the best investment I ever made. You and your team are extraordinary.

Dr. Hobeychi is an exceptional podiatrist. My procedure was perfectly comfortable and painless. My only regret is not having it done sooner!

Dr. Brutus changed my life with this simple, painless operation. I was able to go back to work three weeks later. My heartfelt thanks to Dr. Brutus and his whole team!

Clinique Exception MD

1605 Boulevard Marcel-Laurin #230, Montréal, QC H4R 0B7

Contact us to make an appointment

* Required field

FOR MORE INFORMATION

The Exception MD clinic is located near downtown Montreal and all major highways. Free parking is available to clients. The clinic is also a short drive from Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau Airport, which makes it easy access for international patients.

Contact us to make an appointment or for further details about distance consultations. Our staff will help you choose the most suitable option.

Address:1605 Marcel-Laurin Blvd., suite 230
Saint-Laurent, Quebec H4R 0B7

Phone: (514) 509-2000

Sélectionner une page

La clinique Exception MD

La clinique Exception MD offre des soins médicaux et chirurgicaux spécialisés dans un environnement privé. Elle est reconnue comme pôle d’excellence au Canada dans le traitement de la main, du poignet, du coude, de l’épaule, du genou et du pied.

La clinique se distingue par l’utilisation de techniques novatrices minimalement invasives. Elle privilégie une approche centrée sur la satisfaction et le bien-être des patients en priorisant les méthodes de traitement et de soulagement les plus rapides et les plus efficaces.

L’équipe d’Exception MD est composée de praticiens réputés, leaders mondiaux dans leur spécialité. Exception MD propose une prise en charge humaine, complète et rapide dans un cadre de soins ultramoderne et sécuritaire.

Dr Marc Beauchamp MD, F.R.C.S (c)

Chirurgien spécialiste de l’épaule et du coude travaillant surtout en arthroscopie (sans oublier le genou). Quand je rencontre les gens pour la première fois, je leur dis souvent : « vous savez, je joue pour gagner! » Ça peut paraître un peu ambitieux ou prétentieux… Assurément je ne suis pas le bon Dieu, mais ce que je veux dire c’est que mon engagement pour chaque personne qui a décidé de me faire confiance sera total. Après plus de 25 ans de pratique en orthopédie, plus de 6000 chirurgies dont au moins 4000 arthroscopies de l’épaule, je fais tout pour que la prochaine chirurgie soit la meilleure, et la prochaine personne que je traite la plus satisfaite de toutes.

Je suis aussi formé en échographie. Lors des consultations, cela me permet de compléter l’examen physique et me permet d’effectuer les injections sous guidance échographique, ce qui est généralement beaucoup plus précis que la méthode « à l’aveugle ».

Rien pour moi n’est routine, et chaque nouvelle personne que je rencontre est une nouvelle occasion de me dépasser. Un passionné, moi? Bien sûr, mais surtout un privilégié, plein de gratitude d’avoir encore mes deux mains (la gauche m’ayant été redonnée par un chirurgien quand j’avais 14 ans) et de pouvoir aider quelqu’un à mon tour. Ce quelqu’un(e) qui comme moi pourra, je l’espère, dire merci ou aider par la suite quelqu’un d’autre avec ses deux bras en santé. C’est à chaque fois mon plus grand souhait, et ma plus grande satisfaction.

Dr Jean-Paul Brutus

Le Dr Jean-Paul Brutus est chirurgien de la main et du poignet. Il privilégie les techniques de traitement les moins invasives et il est considéré comme l’un des chefs de file en chirurgie endoscopique de la main et du poignet au Québec et au Canada. Il compte notamment parmi les seuls chirurgiens canadiens à réaliser la décompression par endoscopie du doigt à ressaut et du syndrome du canal carpien. Il est cofondateur d’Exception MD, le premier centre médical privé canadien dédié au traitement des membres supérieurs et inférieurs.

Dr. Hobeychi (c)

Dr. Zyad Hobeychi is recognized as a leading expert in foot surgery in Quebec. He graduated from the prestigious New York College of Podiatric Medicine and completed his specialization at St. Barnabas Hospital in New York under the mentorship of renowned podiatric and orthopaedic surgeons.

He is the founder of the Clinique et Centre de Chirurgie podiatrique de Terrebonne, one of the largest private medical centres in Quebec specializing in podiatric treatment. He also sees and treats patients at Exception MD in Ville St-Laurent.

Alongside his medical practice, Dr. Hobeychi has devoted several years to an academic career. He helped launch the podiatric doctoral program at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, the first French-language program of its kind in the world. He continues to teach and to supervise internships at the university.

Dr. Hobeychi stays abreast of advances in the treatment of foot disorders. He favours the least invasive and safest procedures to shorten recovery time and allow patients to be up and enjoying their regular daily activities as quickly as possible.

Dr. Hobeychi has performed more than 5,000 procedures to date, and is one of very few private-practice podiatric surgeons in Canada.

NOTRE CHAMP D’EXPERTISE

Exception MD propose une expertise et une qualité de soins reconnues dans le traitement des pathologies et des traumatismes accidentels de la main, du poignet, du coude, de l’épaule, du genou et du pied. Nos spécialistes privilégient les techniques d’intervention les plus avancées et sophistiquées afin d’assurer un minimum d’inconfort et un retour accéléré à la mobilité. Du diagnostic au traitement jusqu’à la rééducation, nous offrons un accompagnement attentif et personnalisé.

L’épaule

Imaginez ne pas pouvoir utiliser un de vos bras. Sans pouvoir soulever la main avec aise, vous vous trouveriez drôlement handicapé(e). Une épaule saine, sans douleur, mobile et forte est donc loin d’être un luxe. Souvent, c’est même la condition pour rester autonome, car on fait presque tout avec nos membres supérieurs (même se mobiliser, avec des béquilles, un fauteuil roulant ou une marchette).

L’épaule est l’articulation la plus mobile et la plus complexe du corps humain. Avec le coude, elle sert à placer la main n’importe où, avec force et précision. En fait l’épaule est constituée de quatre articulations plutôt qu’une (la plus grosse étant la gléno-humérale, les autres étant la « sternum-clavicule », la « clavicule-acromion » et la « omoplate-thorax »); beaucoup de muscles, de tendons, et de ligaments. Quand on est chirurgien de l’épaule, on traite donc davantage les tissus mous que les os. Heureusement, l’épaule guérit habituellement très bien, quoique plus lentement que les autres articulations. Le suivi postopératoire est donc crucial, et la patience est de mise de même que l’effort de réhabilitation.

Le coude

Le coude est composé de deux articulations, la première servant à la flexion-extension de l’avant-bras sur le bras (on dira la « trochlée » qui fonctionne un peu comme une penture), et la deuxième qui fait rouler les deux os de l’avant bras l’un sur l’autre pour faire pivoter le poignet (on dira « radio-cubitale » pour l’articulation et « pronation-supination » pour le pivot). Le coude fait rarement l’objet d’arthrose, mais les problèmes de tendons (biceps et épicondyliens) sont fréquents. Si on exclut les traumatismes, les autres problèmes les plus fréquents sont les bursites (la bourse de l’olécrâne étant souvent le siège d’inflammation) et les déchirures de tendons (surtout le biceps distal).

Main et poignet

Que vous souffriez d’arthrose des doigts, que vous soyez atteint d’une maladie de la main ou que vous ayez subi une blessure au poignet, peu importe la nature et la complexité de votre problème, notre équipe de chirurgiens spécialistes peut vous aider à retrouver une fonction physique optimale et vous permettre de retourner à vos activités courantes le plus rapidement possible.

Le genou

Le genou est une articulation relativement simple. Tant qu’on ne lui demande que de la flexion-extension (p. ex. en bicyclette) tout va assez bien. Par contre les torsions produisent parfois des lésions aux ligaments (croisés au centre et collatéraux interne et externe) et aux ménisques (des petits coussins de cartilage en forme de demi-lune).

Contrairement à l’épaule et au coude, le genou est une articulation « portante », c’est-à-dire que tout le poids du corps appuie dessus dès qu’on veut se déplacer. Pour rester mobile, la douleur doit être absente, et l’articulation bien fluide et stable. On assiste actuellement à une réelle épidémie de problèmes du genou dans la population, et ceci est dû au fait que la longévité a nettement augmenté, et que les personnes sont beaucoup plus actives que jadis. Garder les personnes mobiles le plus longtemps possible, c’est le grand défi de l’orthopédie moderne.

Pied

Les pathologies du pied sont communes et variées. Parce qu’ils présentent une biomécanique complexe, qu’ils portent beaucoup de poids et qu’ils sont très souvent malmenés, tant par le port de chaussures inadaptées que par la pratiques d’activités diverses, les pieds sont exposés à de nombreux types de problèmes et blessures. Quelles soient de nature héréditaire ou acquises, qu’elles affectent les os, les articulations ou les nerfs, qu’elles se manifestent subitement ou progressivement, les maladies des pieds peuvent aujourd’hui être traitées de manière efficace et sans délai.

N'hésitez pas!

Si nous n’avons pas répondu à toutes vos questions ou si vous voulez prendre un rendez-vous, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Contactez-nous

QUELQUES TÉMOIGNAGES

Grâce au Dr Beauchamp, ma retraite ressemble vraiment à celle dont j’avais rêvé. Je joue au golf et je fais plein d’activités sans aucune douleur. La vie est belle. Mille fois merci Dr Beauchamp!

Je vous serai toujours reconnaissante de m’avoir redonné ma qualité de vie. C’est le meilleur investissement que j’aie fait à ce jour. Vous et votre équipe êtes extraordinaires.

Dr Hobeychi est un podiatre exceptionnel. Mon intervention s’est déroulée sans douleur et dans le plus grand confort. Mon seul regret est de ne pas l’avoir consulté plus tôt!

Le Dr Brutus a changé ma vie avec cette opération qui a franchement été facile et pas douloureuse du tout. J’ai pu reprendre mon travail après trois semaines. Un gros merci au Dr Brutus et à toute son équipe.

Clinique Exception MD

1605 Boulevard Marcel-Laurin #230, Montréal, QC H4R 0B7

Contactez-nous pour prendre rendez-vous

* Champ obligatoire

   

 

Plus d’informations

La clinique Exception MD est située à proximité du centre-ville de Montréal et de ses grandes voies d’accès. De plus, l’établissement offre un stationnement gratuit.

La clinique se trouve également tout près de l’aéroport Pierre-Elliott Trudeau ce qui en facilite l’accès pour les patients internationaux.

Contactez-nous afin de prendre rendez-vous ou pour en savoir plus sur la consultation à distance. Notre personnel saura vous guider vers l’option qui convient le mieux à votre situation.

Adresse:1605, boulevard Marcel-Laurin, Suite 230
Saint-Laurent, Montréal, QC H4R 0B7

Téléphone: 514-509-2000